The first documented church in Podu Vadului dates from 1510, as it appears from the Slavonic inscription discovered at the foot of the holy table in the Holy Altar. This inscription contained a quote from the Holy Gospel: “The truth of the teaching of our Lord Jesus Christ, in letter 7018 (1510)” and the name Popa Gheorghe. Another inscription is found engraved in Cyrillic letters on the bell of the church from Podu-Vadului, as follows: “This bell was made at Praio Prahovi satu Breaza, at the church from Podu-Vadului, 1810.”
Thus, around 1810, we find a church in a rectangular plan, dedicated to the Nativity of St. John the Baptist, which has been preserved to this day when the new one was built in its place. The church was built of carved stone and brick. Pieces of crosses with traces of Slavonic writing were discovered in the walls of this church. The church was covered with galvanized sheet metal and had a single tower, located on the narthex, which served as a bell tower. Over time, this church has undergone several modifications: the vaults have been replaced with flat ceilings, and the ceiling of the holy altar has been worked in apparent wood. The iconostasis of the church was made of stone and brick. The painting inside the church and on the iconostasis was executed in oil by the painter Teodor Zarimba from Telega commune, in 1878.
In 1975 the parish bodies, under the guidance of the parish priest Traian Georgescu, erected a porch, and only a few years later they poured a foundation, next to the church walls, rising to the ground to a height of 0.90 m., With the hope that they would be able to build another church. Due to the deterioration of the church tower that served as a bell tower, at the same time a bell tower was erected on a metal frame and covered with tin. The 1810 bell, along with a smaller bell, was moved to the new bell tower.Following the 1977 and 1986 earthquakes, the church suffered numerous damages. The transverse and longitudinal cracks in the walls made it virtually unusable. In 1999, two technical expertises were drawn up at the church: painting and masonry, and from these it resulted that the paintings were degraded in a proportion of 80-90%, and the masonry had been executed with lime mortar with sand, without cement.
In 1999, following the convocation of the Parish Assembly and the Parish Council, by the parish priest Vereş Ion-Laurenţiu, it was decided to build a new brick church on the site of the old church. The architectural project for the new church was made by the architect Chiriţoi Mircea from Ploieşti, in collaboration with the architect Voicu Florea from Bucharest. The resistance project of the new church was drawn up by expert engineer Aldea Stelian, from Breaza.
With the Blessing of the Blessed in memory Patriarch Teoctist, based on a quote approved by the Diocesan Center with no. 7554/1999 and the building permit number 173/6 dec. 1999 issued by the Breaza City Hall, in March 2000 the execution of the new church began according to the wishes of the faithful. The new church is in the shape of a cross, with two towers, 28 meters long, 8 meters wide and 16 meters high. The construction of the church began with the execution of the porch, but the continuation of the construction works made it impossible to carry out the public religious services in good conditions.
For this, in 2001 the construction works of the church were stopped, and in May 2001, the faithful together with the parish organs started the construction of a chapel in the parish cemetery. This chapel dedicated to the “Ascension of the Lord” was erected in eight months, adorned with all the objects necessary for worship and equipped with its own central heating. With the blessing of the Blessed One in memory, Patriarch Teoctist was consecrated with aghiasma, on December 16, 2001, by the Most Reverend Father Archbishop Costică Dumitru accompanied by a council of priests.
The construction works of the parish church continued in 2002. The concrete foundation from 1975 could not be used for the construction of the parish church, because it was made without iron reinforcement. After the demolition of the old church, but also of the existing concrete foundation, other foundations were poured, and in the period 2003-2007 the new church was erected. The roof of the church was made of fir wood, and galvanized sheet was used as the covering. The two towers of the church were erected on a fir wood skeleton, and metal gussets were used for resistance. The towers were covered in extruded polystyrene over which welded mesh, rapeseed and 3 cm plaster were applied.
The construction works were completed in 2011 when, with the Blessing of His Beatitude Patriarch Daniel, the Church was consecrated by His Eminence Vicar Bishop Ciprian Câmpineanul, surrounded by a council of priests led by the Reverend Father Counselor Veniamin Goreanu, with this oculam Na Our Lady and the Holy Pious Paraschiva.The construction works of the church were financially supported by the Ministry of Culture and Cults, Breaza City Hall, but also by the parishioners of the parish, of which a special contribution was made by the Dinu Dan and Elena family, and the painting will be done. interior in fresco technique.
The list of priests serving at this church is very brief, because no older archive has been found at the church, and several priests can be mentioned: priest Gheorghe; priest Nicolae; priest Mihai; the priest Ioan Duhovnicul; priest I. Basil; priest I. Georgescu; priest Gheorghe Rădulescu; priest Irimia Ionescu (1921-1929); the priest Dr. Constantin Dumitrescu (1929-1972); priest Traian Georgescu (1972-1990); priest Gheorghe Izvoranu (1990-1996); priest Ion Laurenţiu Vereşş (since 1996, current parish priest).
The parish also has a parish house built in 1932 made of wood and covered with tin. In 2003, the parish house was equipped with its own central heating. Since 2007, the capital repair works have started at the parish house: the plaster on the interior walls has been removed; they were reinforced with welded mesh and rabbi and plastered with cement mortar. The ceilings were made of gypsum, keeping the height of the rooms. The wooden floors were removed, and in their place a concrete slab was poured over which laminate flooring and ceramic tiles were placed.
The parish cemetery functioned in the churchyard until 1951 when, through the perseverance of the priest Constantin Dumitrescu, it was moved to another land of the church located next to the railway. In the 1980s, another cemetery with an area of 9000 m2 was put into use by the priest Traian Georgescu.
Share sau like daca ti-a placut articolul:
No details found.
Share sau like daca ti-a placut articolul: