Source: Breaza National Center for Tourist Information and Promotion The church was built in the shape of a ship, with a wall iconostasis. The nave is separated from the narthex by wall columns. The porch was added later. The church…
- The tour includes
Source: Breaza National Center for Tourist Information and Promotion
The church was built in the shape of a ship, with a wall iconostasis. The nave is separated from the narthex by wall columns. The porch was added later. The church was built of brick, the thickness of the wall being 0.80 m. The foundation was made of pieces of brick, with stone blocks. In 1990 it was subsidized. At the same time, the exterior walls were reinforced by resistance pillars at the base and cornice. At the same time, the shingle roof was rebuilt. The vault was made of hazelnut twigs, lime plaster and tow. According to the text of the inscription, we find that “this Holy and Divine Church, which celebrates the patron saint of the Holy Great Martyr George, adding the Holy Emperors Constantine and Helen, was built in the days of Gregory Dimitrie Ghica Voievod with his effort and expense the slugger Nicolae Saegiu and adorned by the running of Father Popa Stoica the clergyman leat 1830, July 23 ”. Tradition says that the founding priest Stoica, together with his wife, Stanca presbyter, were buried in the porch of the church.
The painting was made in tempera in 1884 by the painter Radu Vintilescu and is still partially preserved in the porch of the church. Being damaged by the passage of time, in 1963 the painting was partially restored by the painter Constantin Călinescu, the work being limited only to the altar, the iconostasis and the lower part of the walls of the nave. Following the 1940 earthquake, the walls of the church were damaged by the walls of the Holy Altar, which were later reinforced with steel bars. The 1977 earthquake damaged the church again, causing cracks in the walls. Subsequent earthquakes, in 1986 and 1990, caused further damage to the place of worship, with pieces of plaster peeling off the ceiling of the church, forcing its restoration. Following the consolidation in 1990, these problems have been remedied.
The bell tower was originally arranged in the church tower. Finding that it is damaging the resistance structure of the place, at the initiative of the parishioners, a new bell tower was built next to the church, with an oak structure, covered with planks, on a concrete foundation and covered with shingles. In 1990 the bell tower was covered again with shingles, now in good condition.
In 2005, the documentation for the construction of a new bell tower and a trapeze was submitted. Currently, the new church that is being built is unfinished, with the services taking place in the chapel.
No details found.
No details found.
No Details Found